Good afternoon and welcome to Federation Footnotes for Wednesday, December 2, 2015.
The Essex County Federation of Agriculture held its Annual Meeting last evening in the Essex Civic Centre. It was well attended. Lyle Hall was acclaimed as President for the next year while Brad Anger will serve as Vice-President. The ECFA Board of Directors welcomes new directors – Josh Mailloux, Leo Oriet, Scott Douglas and Walter McLean to the team. The guest speaker was Darrell Wade – a Certified Farm Advisor with Farm Life Financial Planning Group. He spoke on the need to have a succession plan and how to get started. The Charles A. Diemer Scholarship was awarded to Jennifer Howson from Essex. She is a student at University of Guelph – Ridgetown Campus. Thank you to all who attended.
The Essex County Federation of Agriculture would like to extend our congratulations to Lambton County’s Don McCabe. He was recently acclaimed as President of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture at the OFA AGM and Convention held in Toronto. Simcoe County’s Keith Currie and northern Ontario’s Peggy Brekveld will join him as Vice Presidents for the next year.
Speaking of the OFA – if you are a member and need assistance with any farm related issue like information on a program or explanation of a member benefit, please call Gayle Bogart, Member Service Representative at 519-776-7960.
Do you have plans for this Saturday night? Are you a current or former 4-H member? This year marks the 100th Anniversary of Ontario 4-H. To commemorate this milestone, the Essex County 4-H Association will be holding a dinner at the Harrow Fair Building, this Saturday, December 5. To get more information or to reserve your ticket, please call 519-733-2883. Come out to see old friends and to make new ones.
As Christmas nears and you plan your holiday feasts, think about BUYING LOCAL. There are lots of options like local turkey, potatoes, squash and more. Maybe even look at a local wine for your Christmas dinner. Check out the ECFA website to help with your choices.
The Essex County Federation of Agriculture wishes everyone a Merry Christmas and hope for a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year!
I am Anne Anger and this week’s Federation Footnotes are provided by the Essex County Federation of Agriculture.

Anne Anger,
Secretary / Treasurer,